Deactivate & reactivate PRIMER If you need to move PRIMER 8 to a new machine, switch to a different licence key, or switch to a new subscription plan, you'll first need to deactivate your current installation. Deactivating frees up a seat on your licence, allowing you to activate PRIMER on a new machine or under a new licence or subscription plan. If you want to deactivate and reactivate on the same machine, see the section entitled 'Deactivate and reactivate'. If you want to move PRIMER to another machine, see the section entitled 'Uninstall and reinstall'. If you need more detailed help, see the section entitled 'In-depth walkthroughs'. Deactivate and reactivate This process applies if you want to deactivate and reactivate on the same machine. For example, if there has been a change to your subscription plan, you may need to re-authenticate the software for the change to take effect. Open PRIMER 8 and click Help > Manage Licence... > Remove Authentication. Copy and paste your licence key into the text box labelled 'Licence Key'. Click 'Authenticate'. Uninstall and reinstall This process is necessary if you're moving PRIMER from one machine to another. Open the 'Control Panel' on your computer (e.g., click the Start menu or press the Windows key and type 'Control Panel') Select 'PRIMER 8' from the list of programs. Click 'Uninstall'. Follow the prompts to uninstall. In response to the question: 'Do you want to deactivate this instance of PRIMER to allow you to activate your licence elsewhere?', click 'Yes'. Download and run the PRIMER 8 installer ('PRIMER8Setup.exe') on your new machine. Open PRIMER. In the 'Welcome to PRIMER 8' dialog, click on 'Authenticate Licence'. Enter your licence key into the box labelled 'Licence Key'. Click 'Authenticate'. In-depth walkthroughs For more information on these processes, see the guides below: Install PRIMER Uninstall PRIMER Activate PRIMER Deactivate PRIMER